Where: Global reach

Did you know?
    • Since 2010, six new countries have joined the OECD.
    • Colombia is set to become the OECD’s 37th member country.
    • OECD countries and key partners represent about 80% of world trade and investment.

The OECD brings together member countries and partners that collaborate on key global issues at national, regional and local levels. Through our standards and initiatives, our work helps drive and anchor reform in more than 100 countries around the world, building on our collective wisdom and shared values.

Member countries

Today, our 36 member countries span the globe, from North and South America to Europe and Asia-Pacific. They are represented by ambassadors, who are part of the OECD Council, which oversees and advises on our work, as set out in the OECD Convention. They engage with our experts and delegations from other countries, relay our data and analysis, and play a key role in our country review programmes, which are designed to encourage better performances. The European Commission participates in our work, but it does not have the right to vote nor does it take official part in the adoption of standards submitted to the Council.

View list of countries
Year of accession
Australia flag
Year of accession 1971
Austria flag
Year of accession 1961
Belgium flag
Year of accession 1961
Canada flag
Year of accession 1961
Chile flag
Year of accession 2010
Czech Republic flag
Czech Republic
Year of accession 1995
Denmark flag
Year of accession 1961
Estonia flag
Year of accession 2010
Finland flag
Year of accession 1969
France flag
Year of accession 1961
Germany flag
Year of accession 1961
Greece flag
Year of accession 1961
Hungary flag
Year of accession 1996
Iceland flag
Year of accession 1961
Ireland flag
Year of accession 1961
Israel flag
Year of accession 2010
Italy flag
Year of accession 1962
Japan flag
Year of accession 1964
Korea flag
Year of accession 1996
Latvia flag
Year of accession 2016
Lithuania flag
Year of accession 2018
Luxembourg flag
Year of accession 1961
Mexico flag
Year of accession 1994
Netherlands flag
Year of accession 1961
New Zealand flag
New Zealand
Year of accession 1973
Norway flag
Year of accession 1961
Poland flag
Year of accession 1996
Portugal flag
Year of accession 1961
Slovak Republic flag
Slovak Republic
Year of accession 2000
Slovenia flag
Year of accession 2010
Spain flag
Year of accession 1961
Sweden flag
Year of accession 1961
Switzerland flag
Year of accession 1961
Turkey flag
Year of accession 1961
United Kingdom flag
United Kingdom
Year of accession 1961
United States flag
United States
Year of accession 1961

OECD candidates

Becoming an OECD member country is a demanding task. Countries have to be ready for membership, which means not only adhering to our mission and values, but being able to take on the responsibilities and requirements of active membership. To become a member, countries may apply or be invited to open an accession process by the OECD Council. An accession roadmap is then developed to determine terms, conditions and processes. A technical review is carried out to evaluate the country’s policies and practices compared with OECD best practices and its ability to implement OECD standards. This phase often results in a series of measures a country must implement in order to align with OECD requirements. Each country must ratify membership domestically before becoming members.

The most recent country to join the OECD was Lithuania, in 2018. Colombia was invited to join and its accession is imminent. In April 2015, we began accession discussions with Costa Rica. In March 2014, the accession process to the OECD of the Russian Federation was postponed.

View list of candidates for accession
Colombia flag
Year of accession
Costa Rica flag
Costa Rica
Year of accession

Key Partners

The OECD works closely with Key Partner countries, which include some of the world’s largest economies: Brazil, China, India, Indonesia, and South Africa. They participate in the OECD’s daily work, bringing useful perspectives and increasing the relevance of policy debates. Key partners participate in policy discussions in OECD Committees, take part in regular OECD surveys and are included in statistical databases. 

List of key partners
Brazil flag
Year of accession
China flag
Year of accession
India flag
Year of accession
Indonesia flag
Year of accession
South Africa flag
South Africa
Year of accession

Regional initiatives

We work across countries at a regional level, notably through regional initiatives, spanning Africa, Eurasia, the Middle East and North Africa, Latin America and the Caribbean, Southeast Asia and South East Europe. Regional initiatives help facilitate policy benchmarking and the exchange of good practices between countries in a specific geographical area within and across regions. They also help guide countries towards globally recognised standards and ambitious reform agendas to unlock greater prosperity and well-being for citizens, including at a local and city level. Countries and economies may also be invited to participate in Committees and Global Fora through different types of partnerships.

The OECD Development Centre, which includes countries from Africa, Asia and Latin America, facilitates policy dialogue for and with developing and emerging economies. The Centre contributes expert analysis to the debate on development policy. The objective is to help decision makers find policy solutions to stimulate growth and improve living conditions in developing and emerging economies. We also host the Sahel and West Africa Club (SWAC), an international platform aimed at promoting regional policies that will improve the economic and social well-being of people in the Sahel and West Africa.

List of regions
Twitter Facebook LinkedIn Print Email
arrow arrow
Annual report
Discover the
Read our
annual report